21 days til IVF consult

Well, I let freedom equal two weekends of binge drinking, and now, I’m over it. I’m too old (ha!) for hang overs. I want my little snuggle bug who is my excuse to leave early from a night out and my reason for not drinking. 

I’m counting down the days until our consult with the new clinic. 21 to be exact. 

A week ago, I finished off the medical questionnaire and contacted our former clinic to transfer our records. The always super-friendly receptionist was quite short with me on the phone, but can I really blame her? I wouldn’t want to have to spill the beans to the RE that ANOTHER patient is leaving either.  

On Friday night, we got together for a BBQ with my local fertility friends. 4 couples met at one couple’s house for supper, drinks and conversation. It was perfect. We caught up with each other on where we were at cycle-wise, but the rest of the night did not focus on babies or anything fertility-related. It was like we all needed a break and we knew it. I know I appreciated an opportunity to get to know each other better. Yes, we are all struggling, but we are all people beyond this (in)fertile madness. 

I discovered that one of the other girls is also considering a switch to our new clinic. Her consult is a few weeks after ours. I know I originally wanted to help build our local program, but (in)fertilty is a business. If I’m spending that much cash, I’m going where the treatment and chances are better. Rumour has it: the clinic we are looking into is currently the top in Western Canada. The decision to switch is an easy one for me. 

My goal for the next few weeks is to get back on board with healthy living. I want my mind, body and spirit to be in optimal condition when we move into our IVF cycle. The countdown is on… and once again, I’m getting excited for the possibilities. 

16 thoughts on “21 days til IVF consult

  1. Two weekends of binge drinking? You are brave 😉 I don’t know how I used to be able to handle binge drinking in Ireland where I worked and lived for about 2 years. But, it’s a good way to get lost once in a while 😉 Your new clinic sounds very promising and I hope that the next 21 days will pass by quickly for you! Until then enjoy your time where you don’t have to think about anything infertility related 🙂

    Like

    • Two weekends really only meant 2 nights. Last Saturday was a fundraiser for my ball team followed by a concert; the other was a wedding this past Saturday. I don’t like drinking that much these days but I’m glad it honestly only brought out the good in me. I just wanted to be happy and dance. Sometimes I do worry the alcohol will bring up hurt and sadness, but not lately!!!

      Like

      • I thought it was one night each weekend…otherwise I would say you’ve trained for binge drinking in Ireland…lol. I’m glad the alcohol brought out the happiness and not the opposite…I’ve sure been there myself. What would I give for a chilled glass of Sauvignon blanc right now 😉 I’m watching the soccer world cup which brings out the German in me…lol.

        Like

  2. Good luck!! 21 days will pass by and be here before you know it… I still think that the TWW is the slowest days EVER!! I’m sure the 21 days and the days leading to your TWW will pass by effortlessly. Looking forward to hearing more about your consultation and cycle!!!

    Like

  3. LOL, I know what you mean about the drinking. I drank TOO much this past weekend, and felt like shit the entire drive home on Sunday, ugh!!!!!! It’s crazy how just 10 years ago I could drink like a fish and wake up the next day and feel normal as can be. Long live our glory days. 21 days will fly by!! Can’t wait to hear how your consult goes.

    Like

  4. 21 days is nothing… it will be gone before you know it (that may be a bittersweet thing). I had one night of wine after our recent loss and it only made me feel crappy even though I only had 2 (generous) glasses. It didn’t bring out my happy side, so I’m done with the drinking even though I’m on a break.

    I’m really looking forward to you guys having some better luck and a little bean growing inside with your new clinic. Will you cycle before harvest if possible, do you think?

    Like

  5. Hi there! I’m Heather and I was hoping you could answer a quick question I have about your blog! Please email me at Lifesabanquet1(at)gmail(dot)com 🙂

    Like

  6. So happy to hear you’re moving on and moving forward. I think this is great plan. Can’t wait to hear how your consult goes!

    Like

Leave a comment