My baby fell out of bed

I never thought I would say this but…

Wyatt fell out of bed – as in our big queen sized bed – because we are still cosleeping. :/

Now, let me preface this by saying, it sounds MUCH worse than it actually was.

My little monkey is super active. Whenever he wakes up, he flips himself onto all fours and be-lines it for the side of the bed. He’s usually searching for our cat Oliver. If I’m lucky the cat is curled up on the bed and distracts Wyatt long enough for me to get to him. Poor Kitty. We are working on the concept of gentle petting. 

Anyway…

I awoke to Wyatt making an “ugh, ugh” sound. I opened my eyes and screamed, “OMG where is the baby?!?!” My husband does not have the reaction time that I do as he mumbled and lay there half asleep not seeming concerned at all.

I looked over the side of the bed and there was my child slowly sliding towards the floor. Yes, I’m now accepting nominations for Mom of the Year. *head smack*

Since I had been anticipating this day, I had previously lined the floor on my side of the bed with a 3 high stack of pillows. Along the top of the bed had been a body pillow with another pillow on top of that. Wyatt must have rolled around and gone overboard with the pillows from the top of the bed.

He did not touch the floor. He was laying on top of a minimum of 5 pillows.

I picked him up. He snuggled into my chest and went immediately back to sleep.

See, I told you. It sounded MUCH worse than it actually was.

In fact, the worst part about the situation was that it was 5am and I couldn’t go back to sleep after running all of the worst case scenarios through my head. Anxiety is lovely – isn’t it? 

The next day I ordered a BabyHome Side Rail. It came. I assembled and installed it. It works awesome.

I WISH I had listened to my gut months ago and ordered it instead of listening to my husband who wanted to wait “just a little longer”. The irony is he is the one who insists that Wyatt stay in our bed even though he complains non-stop about having no room. The bed rail has given us what feels like 2 feet of space back! I love it!

Moral of the story: Get a bed rail. They work. They make everyone more comfortable. Mom has less worries…. except… he loves to use it to stand up now. OIE!

Almost 9 months in, I still love cosleeping. I get to sleep. I get to snuggle. I can easily feed him. I’d like to transition him to crib naps before we transition night time. He’s had 2 crib naps so far. Hopefully we can build up to more before the end of the summer.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My baby fell out of bed

  1. If it makes you feel better, my daughter rolled off the couch onto the floor – no pillows – when she was only about 4 months old. I felt so bad, but she was okay. I’m glad you got the rail, though, so hopefully you won’t worry about it happening again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

