Our intro to babyled weaning

I was apprehensive about the concept of babyled weaning until I read the book, “Babyled Weaning: helping your baby to love good food“.

We started Wyatt on solids when he was 6 months, 4 days old. Before then, he was exclusively breastfed. He took to feeding himself like a champ! I’ve been so surprised at how well it’s gone… minus the mess.

What he’s eaten so far:

  • Avocado
  • Pear
  • Asian Pear
  • Banana
  • Strawberries
  • Raspberries
  • Blueberries
  • Watermelon
  • Cucumber
  • Broccoli
  • Green beans
  • Squash
  • Sweet potato
  • Scrambled eggs
  • Homemade turkey meatballs
  • Homemade hamburger
  • Ribs
  • Chicken
  • Yogurt
  • Cheese
  • Waffles
  • MumMum rice crackers
  • Mushies

He HAS to feed himself. It’s non-negotiable.  With the yogurt, I put it on the spoon and hand it to him to feed himself. I tried to give him a non-rice cereal one morning and he hated it! He spit every bite out.

Right now, we’re just doing 2 meals and maybe a small snack. He’s still nursing a decent amount, so I’m confident he’s getting all he needs.

image

image

Did you try babyled weaning? Any recipes or foods you would recommend? 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Our intro to babyled weaning

  1. I did this with the twins. I wasn’t super strict about me not helping them ever with spoons or forks because I did. Sometimes they’re tired and just need help and the calories. At 14 months my guys literally eat everything: sushi, curry, Thai, Chinese, every kind of nut butter, etc. They’re great little eaters. Still messy, well Kiera is for sure. You’ll find they go in ebbs and flows with foods too. Don’t get frustrated if he decides to up his nursing some weeks and cut back on the solids. Totally fine in the long run. And I still buy them the organic pouches of food – mainly the yogurt type ones for when I feel like they didn’t get enough or when we are out about and in a pinch. They’re favourite foods are still hummus, black olives, blueberries and veggie straws. Sometimes they’ll just eat the hummus on a spoon.

    Like

  2. I made a turkey meatloaf recipe with if I remember correctly grated veggies, flax meal, chia seeds, oats, apple sauce… I’ll try to dig out the recipe, but it made for great finger food.

    Like

  3. Pingback: 7 month update | Awaiting Autumn

Leave a Reply

