A response from Huggies

I actually sent the letter I wrote to Huggies.

Here’s the response I received:

Dear Lindsey,

Thank you for contacting us about the HUGGIES® e-newsletters that you are receiving.

I have forwarded your request to our technical team for immediate removal from our e-mail distribution list.  However, because our Brand e-newsletters are scheduled in advance, it is possible that you could receive one or more e-mails within the next two weeks.  I am sorry for any inconvenience.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions about our products or newsletters.  Thank you.

Alisha
Consumer Services, Kimberly-Clark Corp.
Lead the world in essentials for a better life.

When I received their response, I realized I was naive. I actually thought they would maybe take me up on my offer to help. Should I have mentioned that I have a background in UX and actually design web/software applications? 

I know Alisha is simply doing her job, but I wasn’t looking to be removed from a mailing list. I could have easily hit unsubscribe or changed my account preferences myself.

I was looking for Huggies to show me that they have COMPASSION for women who experience pregnancy or infant loss.

I wanted Huggies to understand how much their “whoopsie” marketing affects these women and pro-actively make a change to avoid future heartache at their expense.

Who am I kidding? Corporations don’t value compassion.

Huggies won’t make a dime off grieving mothers. Why would they invest time and money into a minor web enhancement to avoid offending this minor target market? There’s no ROI when there’s no baby to diaper.

It’s National Infertility Awareness Week (NIAW) in the USA and the theme is #startasking. Even if my effort to start a discussion about pregnancy loss with Huggies wasn’t a success, it was a start. If we all #startasking, we are destined to see change. ❤

startasking-niaw-rotating.jpg

In the USA, National Infertility Awareness week runs from April 24-30, 2016. For more information on how you can #startasking, visit Resolve: The National Infertility Association

In Canada, Canadian Infertility Awareness Week (CIAW) is May 12-20. For more information, visit fertilitymatters.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

