Confessions from the car

You have yelled at your husband 3 nights in a row before bed. It finally makes sense why they say the first year after a child is born is trying on your marriage. You realize it takes full commitment and communication from both sides. But, you are feeling unloved, unheard, unappreciated. Ugh, is it really us or could it just be tomorrow’s full moon?
.
You look in the mirror and see no make up, a Mom bun and sweats. You don’t even know what it feels like to wear dress clothes anymore, let alone shoes that aren’t Sanuks.

Your hormonal/viral induced rash is almost gone. How come no one told you about all these wonderful ”benefits” of being postpartum?

You are sitting in your car in the driveway, listening to Coffee House tunes, drinking a tea while your baby sleeps in the back seat. This is the closest you’ve felt to normal all week.

Except for last night when you stayed up until 1pm to help a friend with their website… Yes, you are on maternity leave but you relish any opportunity to use your brain beyond baby life.

You look in the mirror and see your baby stirring. It’s time to tune back in. As much as you needed this car break, you always need his closeness. ❤

So for today, you will go inside and ignore the mess. You will enjoy the snuggles and playtime while you still can…

Especially because they are simple and the rest of life seems anything but simple these days.

8 thoughts on “Confessions from the car

  1. I appreciate this, the struggles are real. It seems as though everything about life changes once a baby enters the family and some days are just so hard!
    I have a rule that no matter what i shower every morning. The few days that Mr. MPB forgets about my shower time makes for a very bad day in our house. My shower just makes me feel real again. But sweats are still a regular clothing option for me now!
    I hope you find some peace and rest in the next few days.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was shocked at the physical challenges that came post partum. Beyond the basic recovery of child birth, c-section, vaginal, whatever. Months later and there is still sweating, rashes, highs and lows. I was not prepared for it all.
    Snuggle up with the baby while you can!

    Like

  3. Currently fighting with my husband because somehow I got out of the house to get my hair done today, so I have my hair newly cut, colored, and styled AND I’m wearing makeup and hubs doesn’t want to take me anywhere! What a waste of cosmetics! Seems petty to him but come on!

    Like

  4. Change “sitting in the car with your tea” to “…with starbucks” and this is my “me” time, usually spent in grocery store parking lots fiddling on my phone.

    I miss my hair. It all broke off and fell out around 4-6 months postpartum–if I put it in a bun short pieces stick out in every direction. And gray hairs! So many!

    Mr. MLACS and I don’t see each other often, but in this first year we have definitely been stretched. We’ve snarled at each other a few times.

    As a housewife I was already accustomed to wearing casual clothes. But this year I definitely haven’t put much thought into what I’m wearing. Are there breastmilk stains on it? Is it easy to nurse in? Are these pants spandex? These are my new criteria. XOXO

    Like

Leave a Reply

