Learning to slow down

It’s 2:07pm. Wyatt just fell asleep on me… Again!

I’m done with attempting to move him to his bassinet. Why bother when he wakes 5 minutes later crying for me?

I’m embracing that my little man is trying to teach his Momma to appreciate the downtime; to enjoy the stillness.

We spent 4 busy years trying to bring him into this world. Running from appointment to appointment. Working extra hard to make extra money to pay for the treatments, the appointments, the supplements, the gazillion pregnancy tests…

I deserve the break.

Who can really complain if every afternoon entails a cozy nap by the fireplace with Wyatt snuggled into my chest?

I’ve already folded 3 loads of laundry, put another load of diapers in the wash, gone to an acupuncture appointment and managed to eat breakfast and lunch today. That’s enough.

Now is the time to be still, to feel the love and enjoy the comfort.

image

image

image

11 thoughts on “Learning to slow down

  1. Yes! Good for him, teaching you to enjoy the downtime! Unfortunately, we know that there are certain things that need to be done… But a lot can always wait. I remember how soon these newborn snuggle naps stop happening, so I’m doing my best to enjoy them while they last. Happy snuggling to you! Xx

    Like

  2. How did you manage to accomplish all of that with a newborn? My only accomplishment was pulling the clothes from the closet and putting them in trash bags…..and that was HUGE for me. Most days I can barely accomplish anything! You are doing great and there will come a time Mr. Wyatt sleeps in the bassinet. Hang onto the baby snuggles as long as you can

    Like

  3. Oh, yes. I remember those days well! Evelyn never liked napping on anything but me. I read a lot of books, watched a lot of Netflix, and got lots of baby snuggles. I’m glad you’re enjoying this precious time.

    Like

  4. Beautiful post…..so glad you’re enjoying your time 🙂 🙂 you deserve all of those precious snuggles 🙂 🙂 Looks like the dogs are enjoying having you home too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

