Tender, loving moments

I’ve found myself occasionally frustrated with my husband since our son arrived into our life.

I saw the hours that we were all home together as an opportunity to get things done and get caught up on housework.  With four hands, surely one us could tend to the baby while the other actually did something productive!

Over the past few days,  my mindset has changed. I’ve started to embrace the slower pace of life that comes with having a newborn. It’s not that the day isn’t filled with activity (feed, burp, change), it’s just that our little guy is the focus. He dictates the schedule.

I’ve also grown to love the snuggles,  the extra suckles and the moments of closeness we share when we aren’t in a hurry to get somewhere or get something done. I’d rather cuddle my baby than rush to get him asleep and put him down.

Those dishes can wait. No one will see that pile of laundry. It will get done. It just doesn’t have to be now.

I’m writing this post from the bath where I’m soaking my still healing perineum. Before I got in the tub,  I peaked in on my husband. He and Wyatt were laying in bed. Wyatt was milk drunk after another feeding, and Mike was lovingly gazing at him.

We don’t need to rush today. We can take it slow. Babies only stay little for so long.

And I’d like all both to experience as many of these moments as possible. ❤

image
9 thoughts on “Tender, loving moments

  1. You’re absolutely right. Everything can wait. Enjoy these moments. They get big really fast! My little guy is huge and about to turn one! It’s crazy how the time zips by.

    p.s., Wyatt is adorable and I’m so so very happy for you Momma ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

