2 weeks postpartum

Wyatt is 2 weeks and 2 days old. Seriously, how have 2 weeks gone by already?

Initially, I thought he looked a lot like me. Since I got a copy of his Dad’s baby photo, I’m beginning to think he looks a lot more like him. What do you think?

image

Mom (top left), Dad (bottom left), Wyatt (right)

Breastfeeding

Breastfeeding is still going well. My little milk monster loves to eat. His large size at birth means that he’s not really eating like a newborn would. During the day,  we go 2-3 hours between feeds. At night,  I’m very happy to say it’s been 3-4 hours. We’ve had two full days of cluster feeding and he also has been cluster feeding the past few evenings. He also loves to use the nipple to soothe himself or put himself to sleep. We caved and gave him a soother to allow my breasts to have a break.

My nipples are in decent shape. My left boob is a bit sore, but I haven’t figured out what it may be yet (no signs of mastitis or a clogged duct). Potential for thrush, but my doctor didn’t think it was that today. I tend to have sharp pains during and after feedings, but it more commonly happens in the evenings. It also is sore if I push on the left side of it. I can’t feel any hard bits and it’s not red or hot. It didn’t seem as sore today, so I’ll see how it goes.

Right boob is fine though.

image

Passed out milk drunk – look at those hands!

Sleeping

Wyatt is still co-sleeping with us and Oliver the cat. The dogs have been moved to their room in the basement for sleeping. I’d like to gradually re-introduce them to the bedroom, but for now, it’s easier if they are separate. Oliver loves his baby but keeps a safe distance. They have this mutual respect thing going on.

I absolutely love co-sleeping. There’s nothing quite like waking up and seeing your baby right there beside you.

As for my energy level, I crashed this past weekend. On Friday, the lack of sleep finally hit me. Wyatt and I had a 2 hour afternoon nap in the recliner by the fireplace. On Saturday, I had 2 naps while Daddy was home. I find I’m stubborn and I tend to try to get things done while baby sleeps rather than sleeping myself. That being said, I also feel like I don’t have much of a need to nap since I am lucky enough to get 6+ hours of broken up sleep a night.

image

Cuddled up on Daddy

Visiting

We’ve had a few friends pop by to visit. I really appreciate it when people come for a shorter time period (1-2 hours). Another friend brought us another batch of lactation cookies and supper yesterday. That – by far – is the best kinda of visit. 🙂

My mom, my sister and my nephew are flying into town this weekend. My Mom will be here for 6 days. My sister is just here for the weekend. I hope it goes well. I’m looking forward to having the extra hands. It made such a difference when Mike was home this weekend.

Healing

I’m feeling better. My stitches are still there, but less sore. I definitely do have hemorrhoids and they are super close to my stitches where I tore. I spoke with my GP today and she said I could use hemmorhoid cream. I also bought those Tucks pads. Prior to this, I’ve just been using my perineum spray and padsicles. I also notice a HUGE difference if I don’t bath at least 2-3x a day and use my perineum spray for every trip to the washroom. Also, I can’t sit on my ass for long periods of time or else it will be super sore as the day goes on. It’s definitely hard to feed a newborn laying down all the time. I try to recline and take as much weight as possible off my perineum/rear end.

Baby’s progress

Wyatt is growing and growing. He had his 2 week doctor check-up today. I think (because they didn’t tell me directly) that he grew 1 inch since his birth and he’s gained about 1 lb over the past a week and a half. She said he’s in the 100th percentile for height and 75th for weight. She also laughed at how he gobbles up his milk, then comes up for air. I feel for the poor kid with Momma’s gianormous ta-tas to deal with! I try to free his little nose when I can. My doctor is a very big promoter of breastfeeding. They didn’t book anyone in the room for 45 minutes after me so that I could feed and change him if I needed to (which I did). I thought that was really supportive of them.

His blocked tear duct cleared up with breastmilk and following a chiropractor adjustment. We saw the chiro on Friday. He was slightly out of alignment in his neck and one spot on his back. Baby’s don’t get cracked at his age. It’s basically like a massage for them.

The public health nurse called today and offered to come out one more time. I may take her up on her offer just to get a definite on his weight and get her opinion on my left boob. I’m confident he’s getting enough to eat as he has PLENTY of wet/dirty diapers. Mike was shocked how many we went through on Saturday when I assigned him on diaper duty for the morning.

Overall, life is good. I love my little man and we are settling in nicely. ❤

image

Naptime on the recliner with Momma

18 thoughts on “2 weeks postpartum

  1. He’s so cute!!! Good to hear that overall things are going well. I think he looks like both of you, I can’t decide who I think he looks more like lol. Keep up the good work, and hopefully you heal up quickly!

    Like

    • I feel like it’s been forever since I posted. It’s a rare occurrence to get two hands on my laptop and I hate typing full posts on my cell phone. Luckily, I managed to hand baby off to his Daddy for a bit tonight

      Like

  2. He’s a hybrid for sure! He seems to have your looks and your hubby’s expressions. What kind of pain are you having in your one breast? I found using a wide variety of positions and massaging my sore breast while feeding or pumping helped empty out the areas that weren’t getting accessed as often.

    Like

    • He has so many of my husband’s mannerisms. It’s amusing to see the similarities between them. As for my boob, it’s kinda just sore and sometimes shooting pain from my armpit to the nipple. I keep feeling for a lump, but can’t find one. I should try massaging it during feeding.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. My left side was always sore because my supply is much bigger on that side. I would cry at first to nurse on that side because it could be so bad. That went away eventually though the oversupply stayed. It still gets sore occasionally but not too bad. I’m glad things seem to be going well!

    Like

  4. He’s adorable and I still think he looks more like you…for now. Do you like those mittens? I was going to get them for mine cause it gets chilly sometimes. Sorry about your boob I hope it gets better and not worse, it took me two months before I stopped having issues with my breasts. Take those naps girl sleep or no sleep at night your body still needs rest!

    Like

  5. I’m so happy to hear things are going so well for you all! Wyatt is such a cute baby! I totally understand the nap thing. Everyday I say I will nap when he does and I have yet to do it. It does feel manageable when you get 6-8 hours of broken up sleep, I agree. It’s funny how one’s perspective of sleep changes. When we get more than 3 hours between feedings at night, I jump for joy! Enjoy your sweet little man!

    Like

  6. What a wonderful update. I’m just so happy for you guys. He really is a handsome baby, and I’m just so glad everything is going so well. Sounds like you’re starting to feel better, hopefully that continues!! Thinking of you guys!

    Like

Leave a Reply

