38 week bumpdate

How Far Along: 38 weeks and 5 days

Meds: All taken daily – prenatal vitamin, Omega 3 + DHA, Ranitidine (2x/day), Magnesium (1000mg at bedtime), Gaviscon for heartburn as required (which is OFTEN!).

Note: I tried to switch from Ranitidine to the Licorice Root yesterday. I also ate some dairy last night which usually triggers my acid reflux. Anyway, the switch didn’t go over well. I was up most of the night, so I’m caved and refilled my Ranitidine. Looks like I’ll be on it til the end. 

Baby is the size of: a WATERMELON!

Best Moments This Week:

  • Attending our local Perinatal Loss Awareness Walk
  • Being OFF WORK!
  • My husband’s workplace starting a baby pool. Right now, the most popular guesses for his arrival are: October 9 and 13.
  • Having lunch with 2 of my local IVF friends today. It was so nice to catch up and sometimes I feel like it’s easier to talk about pregnancy and motherhood with people who have been through infertility.

Total Weight Gain: a total of 16.6 lbs – didn’t weigh myself this week.

Maternity Clothes: All day, every day!

Symptoms:

  • After the 2.5km walk on Saturday, my SI joint was out of line again. Overall, my back is sore at night, but daytime is much more manageable.
  • Tired. Oh, so tired. Fortunately, I squeezed in a 2 hour nap this afternoon.
  • Insomnia. Yup, I randomly wake up between 3-4am every morning. If I can’t go back to sleep, I just get up and do something until I’m ready to sleep again (usually around 5-6am).
  • Lots and lots of Braxton Hicks
  • Baby is continuously lower = random cervical pain/pressure
  • Low iron = anaemic
  • Leaky boobs if I don’t wear a bra
  • Smooth moving bowels which is SUCH A RELIEF after months of constipation

Sleep: Still up every 1-1.5 hours to pee. Super uncomfortable. Difficult to get out of bed.

Food Cravings: Blueberries, granny smith apples, water

Anything making you queasy or sick: And the puking has returned… I’ve puked a couple times in the mornings lately and woken myself up in the middle of the night coughing and choking. I run to the bathroom and puke my guts out. It’s lovely. As a result, I’ve really tried to eat a MUCH smaller supper (almost like a snack). I puked Chinese food on Sunday night and let’s just say I won’t be eating Ginger Beef for quite some time. :/

Movement: He’s active on and off throughout the day. On the weekend, he was down in my pelvis and up in my ribs. I also find when I get a Braxton Hick contraction it hurts where his bum is. It’s almost like my skin doesn’t have any more give there.

Stretch Marks: Yes, I’ve got tiger stripes.

Baby Bump: Growing and growing… Took these photos tonight before we went for a walk. I’m proud to say that black hoodie is a regular sized hoodie. It was always a bit big on me, but it’s the only one I have that I can still squeeze around my belly and zip up.

image

image

Gender: BOY

Labour Signs: Lots of Braxton Hicks. Random cervical pressure. After the walk on Saturday, I had some thick yellow mucous discharge, but nothing since. I think he dropped lower again last night.

Belly Button In or Out?: Innie, but not much left.

Wedding Rings on or off?: Off.

Happy or Moody?: I’m in a neutral mood. Just sort of passing the time until he arrives. I do get grumpy if I’m tired, but overall, I’m decent.

Purchases for baby:

  • Received a few more gifts – a book, blankets, dish set, gift card to a local baby store, baby selfies kit, baby bath set.
  • Brica Baby In Sight Auto Mirror

image

Purchases for Momma: 

  • Nothing this week

Miss Anything?: Sleep, energy, enjoying a good meal, sitting comfortably, laying flat,

Looking forward to: The actual arrival of our little man! I’m so ready for this. I actually don’t have anything planned for the rest of the week besides another acupuncture appointment. My plan is to relax, maybe catch up with a few friends and channel all of my energy into letting him know he is welcome to join us.

10 thoughts on “38 week bumpdate

  1. I’m so glad you’re having good bowel movements again. Constipation sucks. Sorry to hear that the nausea has returned though. I’m still on Diclectin, but puked this evening and has been feeling nauseous lately too. Good on you for walking every day. I think our pelvic issues must be different causes because I’ve been trying to walk, but the shearing makes me feel like someone is sawing my pelvis in half! I’m so jealous of your walking. Great bump pic too. I love the pets in it, and isn’t it a great feeling to discover some random piece of prepreggo clothing fits even now? So awesome.

    Like

    • Yes that sweater was a huge win especially since I couldn’t get Mike’s hooded to do up! I’m sure it will be stretched out afterwards. Yes my pelvic issues are more from lack of mobility. Walking makes it so much better. I’m not even that nauseous. Sometimes in the morning, but it’s just more like random spontaneous pukes. The pets have been acting quite funny. They are all best buddies right now and giving me more space. They must sense something.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I recently found some of my old shirts that were really long, so I’ve been able to wear them with maternity pants or Lululemon pants. Wardrobe win! I’m pretty sure I won’t need to buy any more maternity clothes, but OMG my FEET have grown! I don’t fit into anything now, and have been wearing my Birkenstock sandals with every outfit. It cannot continue with the weather cooling down lol. I’m forcing my feet into my runners, but goodness, what’s the point in lacing them up!

        Yeah, my pelvic issues are from too much mobility. I’ve noticed that my pelvis hurts less now that I’m off work- less walking, less standing. I’m trying to do dog walks every other day, but some days i just can’t because of the pelvic pain.

        Oh the pukes! And the pets. Maybe more signs of impending labour?

        Like

  2. You will love that mirror. And the poop book made me laugh. You’ve already made it much farther into pregnancy than I ever did – I bet you’re uncomfortable. I’m hoping he gets itchy to get out soon for your sake. Thinking of you!

    Like

  3. I can’t believe you’re still doing these updates….I thought for sure he would be here by now. So sorry to hear the puking has returned, that boy has really given you a time with that! Hoping he arrives soon so you feel better, and can sleep again (as well as possible with a newborn).

    Like

  4. It’s getting sooo close! Maybe you’ll have a turkey day baby. 🙂 When I read updates like this, as much as I’d prefer not to have to have a c-section, I also feel extremely grateful that I have a day and time and therefore can do a proper countdown, etc.

    Like

  5. Awesome update ☺️. You’re such a cute prego. Do you find taking all your pills counts as a meal now? I find that a lot. Congrats the bm’s. It’s line nature decided that since you can’t sleep for long (or on your back)… You get to poop!

    Like

Leave a Reply

