Reflecting on our IVF journey

One year ago today, I had bloodwork and an ultrasound, then started my stims.

I crossed over into the world of IVF treatment not realizing what was in store for me.

I think reflection is an important part of life. Not reflecting on the negative all the time, but reflecting on the challenges and seeing what became of them.

In the past year, I’ve experienced:

  • A cocktail of fertility meds
  • Over 120 self (or husband) injected needles
  • Close to 50 blood tests
  • 2 surgeries
  • 2 embryo transfers
  • 2 pregnancies
  • Grief and heartache following a pregnancy loss
  • A mild case of OHSS
  • Borderline Hyperemesis Gravidarum
  • Carpal Tunnel
  • Constipation
  • Acid reflux and heartburn
  • Lost friends
  • Gained friends
  • A newfound sense of self
  • A closer connection to my husband
  • A better understanding of my body
  • Love at first sight
  • All of the “pregnancy firsts” (first ultrasound, first heartbeat, first anatomy scan, first kick)
  • 3 changes in my job position/title
  • Paying off IVF costs
  • Preparing for baby
  • Stress
  • Relaxation
  • Fear
  • Hope

I’m sure this list could go on and on…

Was this past year easy? Hell no, but I would never change it.

The challenges were worth the lessons I’ve learned, the people I’ve met, and the strength I’ve gained.

If you asked me 1 year ago where I thought I’d be today, I would have said on maternity leave with a 3 month old baby girl.

Instead, I’m 32 weeks pregnant preparing for the birth of our baby boy.

Life changes and we can’t control it.

All we can do is look back on it and appreciate how far we’ve come. ❤

The journey never ends. It merely twists and turns us in another direction.

journey quote

14 thoughts on “Reflecting on our IVF journey

  1. What an interesting way to reflect- taking inventory of what has transpired this past year. I like your list. I kinda feel that now that we’re pregnant, some of the challenges that we’ve been through aren’t honoured as part of the process, but I think your reflection does in fact honour the strength that it took to get here.

    Like

      • You seem very good at self-reflection, which I think is a deeper kind of wisdom that takes a lot of discipline and experience to hone. I admire you for it 🙂

        Dumplin’ is good… Just truckin’ along. I feel a bit bad for Mochi(s) right now because DW has been swearing up a storm from all of this finger pain. She’s doing all of the right things- elevating, icing, releasing blood through a pinhole, but we think it must be broken because it hurts even more today. How’s your little one doing? Dumplin’ and Mochi(s) say hi to Baby B!

        Like

  2. Congrats and best wishes down the home stretch.

    I have one question. You said you wouldn’t change the last year. If you weren’t 32 weeks pregnant would you feel the same way?

    Like

    • Ah that’s a great question. Can I even truly answer it? Looking back on the year before IVF, my husband always says he wishes we skipped IUI and went straight to IVF. Easy to say when we had success. If we weren’t pregnant, I don’t think I’d have any regrets as we would know more about of fertility situation and hopefully be gearing up to try again. If you asked me immediately following our loss, I would have also said I wouldn’t have changed it. As devastating as it was, it was reassuring to know we could get pregnant. Overall, I still think each step was necessary to get us where we are today on a physical, emotional and spiritual level. If I wasn’t 32 weeks pregnant, we still would have grown, learned and progressed – just in different areas/ways than we have now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

