30 week bumpdate

How Far Along: 30 weeks and 4 days

Meds: All taken daily – prenatal vitamin, Omega 3 + DHA, Ranitidine (2x/day), Magnesium (250mg at bedtime as per my chiro’s recommendation), Gaviscon for heartburn as required (which is OFTEN!).

Baby is the size of: a cantaloupe or a winter squash

Best Moments This Week:

  • Feeling baby kick even harder and having my 3 year old niece feel him kick
  • Planning my Blessingway with my doula
  • Attending my husband’s cousin’s wedding – yes this baby bump even got up on the dance floor!
  • Attending my friend’s gender reveal party (add another one to Team Blue!)
  • Realizing we are in the single digits for weekly countdown – HOLY SHIT! There’s only 9 weeks and 3 days til my due date.

Total Weight Gain: an increase of 2.4 lbs over the past two weeks for a total of 12.6 lbs.

Maternity Clothes: All the time now. Still loving anything cotton and stretchy. I honestly have not worn jeans since May.

Symptoms:

  • Low iron = fatigue and some lightheadedness.
  • Peeing constantly
  • Sore back/shoulders – especially sore ribs. I’ve been doing lots of stretching to release this tension. By the end of the day, I just feel like my belly is so big and it’s pushing upwards on everything.
  • Sore belly – always growing!
  • Less heartburn!
  • Noticed some swelling in my ankles the day after the wedding.

Sleep: I slept great in a hotel this weekend, but I’m not sleeping as well at home. I get up to pee approximately every 2 hours. The dreams are still cr-cr-crazy! I tend to have the most bizarre dreams in the last sleep round before my alarm goes off. I anticipate my body doesn’t reach the deep sleep during that time because it knows it’s almost time to get up.

Food Cravings: French toast, salad, turkey stuffing – which I got at the wedding! WHOHOO!

Anything making you queasy or sick: The smell of porta-potties: one of the joys of being pregnant at a country wedding (Yes I puked in my mouth a few times). Puking acid in the morning after forgetting to take my Ranitidine at bedtime last night.

Movement: He must be shy because he’s usually quite calm when I’m around a lot of people (i.e. at the wedding), but when I’m home or in a quiet situation, he’s moving constantly. You can see my belly move sometimes now. He also kicked Bella the chihuahua when she was laying on my lap one morning.

Stretch Marks: On my lower tummy

Baby Bump: Growing and growing… I feel like I’m HUGE now

image

Gender: BOY

Labour Signs: Too early.

Belly Button In or Out?: Innie

Wedding Rings on or off?: Off due to the heat.

Happy or Moody?: I’ve been good lately. No major mood swings.

Purchases for baby: More clothes, a storage bin and a mirror for the nursery

Purchases for Momma: Nothing this week

Miss Anything?: Being able to sleep reclined, being able to get out of bed without major effort

Looking forward to:

  • Receiving our custom built rocking chair to finish the nursery.
  • Being off work in 7 weeks
20 thoughts on “30 week bumpdate

  1. Looking good mama!! I saw where you said you’re looking forward to being off in 7 weeks, are you taking time off before the baby too? Or just think you’ll deliver early? Not too much longer now, can’t wait to see the finished nursery.

    Like

      • That’ll be nice!! I have read that most first time mom’s go late though…so your 2 weeks could turn into 4 🙂 🙂 Gosh, it’s getting so close, can’t believe he’ll be here so soon.

        Like

            • I don’t have top-up at my work so I qualify for the max employment insurance benefit which is $524/week. It’s peanuts compared to my regular salary but better than nothing! I’m not sure that amount has taxes taken off either. I can take a total of 55 weeks in my province which can be split between spouses or taken consecutively. If you take it consecutively, it reduces the overall timeframe (i.e. if Mike took 4 weeks, I’d go back 4 weeks early). I think it’s a common misconception that Canadians all get full salary. Only armed forces, government and some health regions offer almost full pay for maternity leave.

              Like

  2. I’m sorry you has swelling and had to deal with porta-potties, those suck when pregnant. If you start to notice frequent swelling ask your doc for a prescription for compression stocking, they work! You looking nice a big now, in the most beautiful way 😘 I’m excited to see this customer rocking chair…sounds fancy!

    Like

    • It’s gone down today significantly. We are due for some super hot weather this week, so I’ll definitely keep an eye on those ankles. I should do another post on the rocking chair later this week – before we have it – since it’s spurred so much interest. I found we didn’t have as many options in Canada again.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 30 Weeks! How exciting. Only 10 more to go. Sending you the strength to get through the next ten weeks to meet your little one. I cant wait to see him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

