Baby Buys – Part 5: Breastfeeding basics

I hope to breastfeed our little man and decided it was time to get a few items to prepare us for that adventure.

My Brest Friend Pillow in Sunburst 

I also scored this pillow from a local online classified site for $10. At Babies R Us, it retails for $54.99

I think the woman ended up not breastfeeding as her little one was just teeny tiny and the pillow was in excellent used condition. Besides, for $10 – who could go wrong?

brestfriend

Medela Pump in Style Breastpump with Slouch Bag 

I found this used breastfeeding pump for $150 from the same online classifieds site. This exact model retails at Babies R Us for $379.99. I saved well over $230 with this purchase! SCORE! The pump is in excellent used condition. The woman only used it for 6 weeks. The reason I selected this model is that it actually has better reviews than the more expensive Medela Freestyle pump.

It comes with:

  • 1 black micro-fibre bag with integrated motor
  • 2 breastshields with assembly
  • 4 bottles with solid lids
  • 2 valves
  • 4 membranes
  • 1 cooler bag with contoured ice pack
  • 2 bottle stands
  • 1 Battery Pak
  • 1 AC/DC transformer
  • Instruction Manual

The woman was also kind enough to give me:

  • Half a pack of breast pads
  • 6 extra bottles with lids
  • A unopened pack of freezer bags
  • A unopened pack of membranes
  • A sample of Lanolin cream

medelapumpinstyle

I also picked up some Lanolin cream today as it was on sale and doesn’t expire until 2018. I don’t plan on buying any nursing bras until closer to/after my due date.

*Note: all prices are in Canadian dollars. 

Are there any other breastfeeding MUST HAVES that you recommend I purchase?

Check our other baby buys:

41 thoughts on “Baby Buys – Part 5: Breastfeeding basics

  1. I would recommend getting new tubing for the pump as well, since the PIS isn’t a closed system so there is some risk of cross contamination. Plus, it’s just good to have extra parts!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I recommend the medela microwave steam sterilizer bags for pump parts. It makes sterilization so much easier and they’re super inexpensive. I also just ordered myself an extra set of flanges and such because I’m pumping so much that it makes it easier to have them washed and dried when there’s an extra set. But I don’t recommend doing that until you are positive the flanges are the right size for you. I ended up needing the 27mm.

    I’ll also echo everyone who recommended the bravado nursing tank. I could seriously live in it.

    I also just purchased a simple wishes hands-free pumping bra from Amazon. I’ve only used it a few times because it just came yesterday, but I like it a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have the pump in style and really like it! The battery pack is a joke though and only for emergencies- it takes 8 batteries and is good for like 2 uses! Even on the second pump the suction was not as strong. I thought I was building up tough nips at first, lol.
    When you clean after using, make sure you remove the little white flap thing. I didn’t at first and milk gunk builds up in there.
    I highly recommend the double pump hands free bra. Love it! I can get all my emailing done and pump at the same time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have a pump in style! I’ve been an exclusive pumper since we were still in the hospital (major latch issues 😦 ) and I’m still going strong at 14 months. It’s a great pump!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Not sure if you know, but we recently found out that Medela has an open circuit system meaning that it is not sanitary for more than one person to use. It doesn’t have back flow protectors like the hospital grade models do. The Spectra 2 is hospital grade and has a closed system. Just an FYI, lots of people still swap pumps. I highly recommend nursing tops as late has already realized how helpful they are along with pumping bras!

    Like

  6. I have both the pump in style and the above mentioned Spectra 2. The pump in style is a better pump in my book simply because the connections actually stay attached. I use both all the time. In the US health insurance companies are required to provide a breast pump to mothers. When they found out I had a preemie, I was provided the Spectra 2 because it’s hospital grade. I also rented the Medela Symphony for a while, while the baby was in the NICU for 3 months. They did have a pump for me to use while I was in the NICU, but when I went home for very brief periods of rest, I still needed to pump. If you have any questions on all 3 pumps, let me know. I’m happy to attest to all 3. Definitely, definitely get at least 2 hands free pumping bras. I’m a little OCD, but I only use the bra for 2 days and then it’s in the wash. They have to hang dry, so I got a second one to use while the other is being cleaned. This will allow you to massage your breasts while you are pumping. It makes a huge difference on the quantity and quality of milk that comes out when you do this. You want that nice, fatty milk, and massaging while pumping allows you to achieve this. Happy Breast Feeding!

    Like

  7. Pingback: 29 week bumpdate | Awaiting Autumn

  8. Pingback: Baby Buys: Part 6 – nursery bedding | Awaiting Autumn

  9. Pingback: Baby Buys – Part 7: Preparing to cloth diaper | Awaiting Autumn

  10. Pingback: Baby Buys – Part 8: Diaper pail | Awaiting Autumn

  11. Pingback: Baby Buys – Part 9: Creepin’ on the little one | Awaiting Autumn

Leave a Reply

