Embrace the change

It’s Friday – a lovely, warm, surprisingly humid on the normally dry Prairies day. I’m struggling with motivation today. If I ruled the world, everyone would have every Friday off in the summer.

I woke up this morning at 6:30 am and had trouble falling back asleep because my little man kept kicking me. I think when I’m hungry the little man is also hungry as he tends to be more active then.

This week must have been a growth spurt for me. I’ve been SO HUNGRY and tired. I eat about 5-6 small meals a day and I’m exhausted by 7-8pm every night.

I’ve also been REALLY struggling with eating meat. My one intuitive friend laughed and told me she isn’t surprised as my little man is quite the “hippie”. It will be interesting to see if her prediction is right.

As the days go on, I get more and more excited to welcome our son into the world. My husband said the other night that he’s most excited to see what he looks like and I can’t agree more!

I also has my first showing of the dreaded red stretch marks. Overnight, a few red speckles made an appearance on my stomach proving that the lines are slowly surfacing. I went through the stretch mark phase during puberty and with any significant weight gain, so it’s not a surprise I got them during pregnancy. I’m going to embrace them. They actually make my ectopic scars stand out less which is an interesting concept. Reminders of our 1st baby blend with signs of our 2nd and work together to create a natural piece of art over the sacred space that nourished my babies. I’ve always believed that each mark on our body tells our story. Now, the stories of both of my children are woven together. ❤

Early tomorrow morning, we are off for our baby shopping weekend. I booked us into a hotel that I often stay at for business trips that has an outdoor pool that overlooks the downtown area. I’m so looking forward to laying on my back in the water and looking up at the sky. I’m also looking forward to making a decision on the crib (I honestly don’t know why this has been so difficult for me!) and finally getting started on the nursery once we are home. Can’t wait to fill you in.

For now, embrace your partners, hug your bellies, and kiss your children. After today’s US Supreme Court ruling in favour of gay marriage, we all need to share the love. Even though there will always been challenges and struggles, we are on the way to a more accepting society – a better place for our children.

image

3 thoughts on “Embrace the change

Leave a Reply

