23 week bumpdate

How Far Along: 23 weeks and 5 days

Meds: 
All taken daily – prenatal vitamin, Omega 3 + DHA, Vitamin D, Ranitidine (2x/day), Magnesium (250g at bedtime as per my chiro’s recommendation), Gaviscon for heartburn as required.

Baby is the size of: a cob of corn or a eggplant

Best Moments This Week: More baby kicks 🙂

Total Weight Gain: 8 lbs total. + 0.4 from last week

Maternity Clothes: I wore my first maternity dress out to a wedding this weekend. It was just a plain black maxi dress that I accented with gold jewellery and sandals. I love anything comfy these days.

Symptoms:

  • Heartburn – ugh. I need another massage or something because it’s bad again.
  • Sore hips on and off
  • The morning pukes are back. I have puked 4-5 days in a row. Luckily, it’s usually just early morning. I did have one middle of the night puke though.
  • Baby is sitting low and sometimes it’s super uncomfortable
  • Headaches – especially if I don’t eat enough protein or if there’s a rain storm (change in pressure perhaps?)
  • I had a nasty prego rash on my neck for quite a few weeks. It went away when my puking subsided, but it appears to be coming back a bit now. I definitely think it’s linked to hormonal levels.
  • HUNGRY! I still eat small meals, but I need to eat more during the day.

Sleep: Peeing has increased 😦 I get up at least 3x a night now. Pillow fort still rules the bed. I sleep on an incline to help with the heartburn.

Food Cravings: Strawberries, green grapes, bagels

Anything making you queasy or sick:  Brushing my teeth still, eating too much, taking too much in my mouth, meat – I can not eat pork at all!

Movement: He’s was kicking up a storm last week. I think he is having a growth spurt because he’s been less active the past 2 days. Although, his latest antics is jumping on my bladder. Oh yeah – that one feels awwwwwesome. :S

Stretch Marks: Ugh… the lower tummy ones are starting. I can see a bit of red coming through now. Still lathering myself with coconut oil or belly balm nightly.

Baby Bump: Growing and growing…

image

Gender: BOY

Labour Signs: Too early.

Belly Button In or Out?: Innie.

Wedding Rings on or off?: On

Happy or Moody?: Happy this week. I’m getting good at knowing my limits before I get overtired.

Purchases for baby: Nothing this week

Purchases for Momma: Nothing this week

Miss Anything?: Not tiring so quickly

Looking forward to: Our roadtrip to Ikea this weekend 🙂

34 thoughts on “23 week bumpdate

  1. You’re looking amazing!! Sorry to hear that you’re feeling sick again though, that sucks. Hopefully it doesn’t last too long. I agree with MPB…I can’t believe you’re so far along already! It really seems like just a couple weeks ago that you found out you were pregnant! Time flies I guess! 🙂

    Like

    • Puking just becomes the ”new normal”. It’s not easy to stay grounded. I’ve struggled with anxiety this pregnancy too. But I told myself that I need to make a conscious effort for my sanity and the sake of the baby. Life is easier when you can release the worry and tension.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 24 weeks! So exciting! Ugh, though, pregnancy heartburn is the pits, I’m so sorry! Has anyone suggested raw almonds? I kept a bowl by my bed to eat even at night and they helped some. Don’t know about it worth the nausea though.

    Like

  3. Looking great Lindsey! I’m sorry the pukes are back for you too. Mine are so bad right now that I’m back on the Diclectin again. I hope your little man starts kicking lots again for you. I asked my midwife today about the frequency of kicks and growth spurts and she said that prior to 28 weeks, fetal kicks are very irregular. It isn’t until 28 weeks that they expect us to start kick counting, and even then it’s 6 kicks per 2 hours.

    Like

      • I’m glad he’s been more active today. I got to hear Dumplin’s heartbeat today so that made me feel better. At one point he kicked the Doppler, but I didn’t feel it, so that anterior placenta really does cushion the kicks. There’s a shortage here too. I actually couldn’t get into the midwifery practice in our city, or in the three neighbouring cities because they’re full. So I have to go to a Toronto midwifery clinic instead, because Toronto has at least 4 midwifery practices!

        Like

  4. I’m a fairly new reader, I’ve only been around since October but I always love your updates. And, I saw you in Ikea today! At least, I think it was you. 🙂

    Like

    • That’s hilarious! You should have said hi! I was a disaster. We got up at 5am and drove straight to Ikea. Didn’t expect it to be raining and I was just wearing comfy clothes. However, we did find everything we were looking for! If you ever want to meet up, let me know. I may make one more business trip back before baby comes. 🙂 You can reach me via email awaitingautumn14@gmail.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

