21 week bumpdate

How Far Along: 21 weeks and 4 days

Meds: All taken daily – prenatal vitamin, Omega 3 + DHA, Vitamin D, Ranitidine (2x/day), Magnesium (250g at bedtime as per my chiro’s recommendation), Gaviscon for heartburn as required.

I’m very happy to say I have not taken a Zofran in over a week! Also, taking Magnesium will help to get the rear-end moving. It’s been a success so far!

Baby is the size of: Baby bok choy or a cantelope

Best Moments This Week: Things are just starting to feel more real. My husband talks to the baby more. I saw a cantelope at the grocery store yesterday and loudly yelled to Mike, “Hey, this is the baby this week!”.

Total Weight Gain: Definitely up a bit this week! Not puking has helped. I weighed myself earlier this week, and I think I was up another pound – approx 6.6 lbs total.

Maternity Clothes: I have the worst body for maternity clothes! I have decided that maxi skirts and regular pants + the BellaBand will be the way to go. I’m carrying my baby low, so most maternity pants dig in right where he sits. My new jean shorts were an epic fail on Saturday. They fit great when I stand but are way too tight when I sit. Lesson learned: I need to sit down and stand whenever I try anything new on at the store.

Symptoms:  Heartburn, only morning pukes and the occasional headache. Drinking lots of water and eating small, frequent meals seems to help the headache. I had a massage on Friday where she tried to move my ribs down as she said everything was squashed upwards. My heartburn has improved significantly since then!

Sleep: Fairly good lately. My pillow fort = wonderful

Food Cravings: Ice cream, fruit, Dairy Queen Cheeseburgers – this one is bizarre for me! I never ate any food except ice cream from there before I became pregnant!

Anything making you queasy or sick:  Same ol, same ol – Taking too much of something in my mouth, eating too much in one sitting, brushing my teeth

Movement: I keep joking that our baby is definitely his father’s son as Mike secretly loves Top 40 hits – anything with a beat and a good dance rhythm. I’ve noticed that baby tends to move around if an upbeat song is on the radio. The first time I noticed it “Gernomino” by Sheppard was playing.

Stretch Marks: UPDATE: I don’t have the linea nigra! It must have just been the seam from the pants I was wearing diging in that day. Mike laughed when I told him to look at my belly and there was nothing there. I have noticed a few new strectch marks. I’ve switched to lathering up with coconut oil every night. My massage therapist also encouraged me to get further out on my hips as she’s worried I’m going to have some new ones appear there.

Baby Bump: Growing and growing…

image

Gender: BOY

Labour Signs: Too early.

Belly Button In or Out?: Innie, but my skin is definitely stretching. My scars from my ectopic surgery are popping out more.

Wedding Rings on or off?: On.

Happy or Moody?: I’m generally in a good mood these days. Getting overtired causes me to be moody.

Purchases for baby: Nothing this week!

Purchases for Momma: My diaper bag arrived…. and I LOVE IT!

Miss Anything?: Cuddling, riding my bike, bending over without a struggle,

Looking forward to: Buying for baby – I need to do a post on what we’ve decided on for our major purchases.

15 thoughts on “21 week bumpdate

  1. I think I’m gonna do a post soon on purchases as well. I’m excited to see what you’ve decided to get. You’re looking fab mama! Cute about the top 40! I love top 40 music, and so does Dumplin’!

    Like

      • Thank you. I hear you. I’m hoping yesterday was my last day of nausea. It got really bad during surgery as my BP fell from the spinal (I get same with general) and even with all the antinausea meds that the anesthetist injected that nausea lasted all day and much of the evening. I didnt care as much since the prize was in my arms. I hope your bad MS never returns but if it does you at least know what does and doesn’t work for you and you can take my word that it doesn’t seem as bad when you’re crossing the finish line. Silver linings right?

        How are your energy levels?

        Like

          • I haven’t posted. It’s been a bit mad. Will email you.

            Yikes. Careful with the fluids for sure. That’s how I ended up at L&D the first time – contractions due to dehydration even though I was drinking, just not enough.

            Like

  2. My most favorite pants from my pregnancies was the black stretchy pants. They aren’t leggings as they are too baggy (straight legged?), but they were/are awesome! No pinching or too tight anywhere. Maybe you can find a pair like that, or if sumer is too hot, skirts (and short leggings/capri)! Tons of them! 🙂

    Like

  3. Good news, lots of good stuff! So glad! Youse the thickest oil you can, vitamin e and wheat germ are great and last all day. I rub it on my whole torso, hips, but, boobs and thighs. I’m not using it on my arms as well. Problem is it only helps so much, if your gonna get them it’s in the cards already 😔 your looking great, rounding out a lot too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

