16 week bumpdate

How Far Along: 16 weeks and 5 days

Meds: All taken daily – prenatal vitamin, Omega 3 + DHA, Vitamin D, Zofran (2-3/day), Ranitidine (2x/day), Restorolax (aka Miralax)

I’m back on my vitamins! Whohoo! I’m feeling MUCH better with the Zofran + Ranitidine. The Restorolax is always making the back-end work MUCH better as well.

Baby is the size of: dill pickle or avocado

Best Moments This Week: 

  • Hearing the whoosh, whoosh sound of our baby’s heartbeat
  • Going for my 1st bike ride of the season
  • Putting together a wagon I purchased two years ago and pulling our one chihuahua around in it. Yes, we are losers. haha. I originally bought it for when friends/relative’s kids come over, but we haven’t used it yet. It has removable sides, so you can use it as a trolly. I thought this might mean less carrying/lifting when planting my flowers this year.

Total Weight Gain: +6 lbs – I have not gained anything in almost a month! My OB isn’t concerned as he knows it’s due to the puking.

Maternity Clothes: The maxi skirt is my best friend these days. I’m noticing that my boobs are creeping out of my bra. I’m going to try to make due with what I’ve got until I am sometime in the 20 week range. I did buy 1 maternity/nursing tank and another maternity tank this week.

Symptoms:  Nausea has subsided since I’m on the Zofran + Ranitidine. Heart burn only comes on if I eat something I’m not supposed to (like ice cream since I’m lactose). I still occaisionally puke but it’s more like once a day or every other day. Last week, I struggled with head aches though. I had 3-4 throughout the week.That is a new symptom for me. I also am experiencing some more lower back/hip pain.

Sleep: CRAZY dreams! The past few nights have been interesting. I’ve gone from dark castles to the beaches of Morocco. My subconscious definitely is imaginative! I’m still boycotting the snoogle, but I’ve made a pillow fort all around me. My chiropractor is really encouraging me to support that belly to alleviate some of the hip pain. I’m a stomach sleeper, but have been trying to sleep on my side. I end up being tilted towards my stomach which is straining my lower back and hips. The pillow fort seems to help.

Food Cravings: Blueberries, ice cold water, popsicles, and McChicken sandwiches — > not my most healthy craving to date :/

Anything making you queasy or sick:  Brushing my teeth, driving, bending over or getting up too fast, coughing, sometimes even just looking at food, ugh!

Movement: On and off, I still feel my uterus getting a bit tighter with a butterfly-like sensation going on. Nothing major yet except this feeling.

Stretch Marks: My husband thinks my BOOBS are getting some! UGH

Baby Bump: No real “Blump” progress since last week. I’ll take a photo every other week.

Gender Prediction: BOY! 24 days til we know for sure…

Labour Signs: Too early.

Belly Button In or Out?: Innie to start!

Wedding Rings on or off?: On.

Happy or Moody?: Happy except when I had a headache.

Purchases for baby: We are big baseball fans. We bought the little one a ball glove to use for our gender reveal/we’re prego announcement. I won’t ruin the surprise just yet 😉

Miss Anything?: Not much right now. That’s a positive sign! I know I will miss playing fastball when my season starts in 2 weeks.

Looking forward to: Our anatomy/gender scan on May 28, decorating the nursery and buying baby items.

12 thoughts on “16 week bumpdate

  1. I had to get new bras around 20 weeks I believe (it all runs together at the end unfortunately). Now I’m trying to wait just a few more weeks before getting the nursing bras. So glad to see you at 16 weeks!

    Like

      • Ugh, preach that. People are saying I should order nursing bras after my milk has come in, but I HAVE a to get fitted, which would mean leaving the house with a tiny tiny newborn for a bra fitting when I’m still trying to figure out the whole “mom” things, DAYS after she’s born. That just seems like a recipe for disaster.

        Like

        • Is there a place that is knowledgeable enough to be able to suggest if going up a size will work and still fit once the milk comes in? We have a great local store. She was the one who suggested I wait as along as I can but I don’t think she meant come AFTER baby arrives.

          Like

  2. Zofran can give you headaches, which is partially why I didn’t take it (for me the threat of headaches was worse than my nausea) Hooray for 16 weeks!

    Like

    • Ahhh! I didn’t put that together yet. I haven’t taken one since last night and I’ve already got a headache today. Going to pump up my fluids and see if maybe it’s more dehydration or hunger. If not, it’s most likely the Zofran. Thanks for letting me know!

      Like

  3. OMG I laughed about pulling your dog in the wagon because I keep telling B that I want to get one of those pet strollers and take the cats for walks!! He tells me I’m crazy, but I think a couple of them would like it lol!! Glad things are going well for you, and that your meds have you feeling better as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

