12 week ultrasound and ANOTHER scare

Yesterday was our 12 week nuchal translucency ultrasound. The coolest part of the scan was seeing him bounce around. The baby was not cooperating, so they couldn’t get the nasal bone measurement. They had me go pee, go for a walk, lay on my side, etc. He was facing back up and would not flip. We didn’t get many good photos due to his positioning.

He (I’m still just going with he until we know different) is measuring 12 weeks, 2 days with a heartbeat of 157 bpm.

Baby's side profile

Baby’s side profile

Baby's arm

Baby’s arm

Baby's back & spine

Baby’s back & spine

Yesterday was a shitty day for me with the nausea. I felt like crap all day long even on the Diclectin. Some days, it helps. Other days, it barely does anything.

Anyway, I was laying in bed last night and let out a huge sneeze – you know one of those ones you have to brace yourself for. I got up to pee, came back to bed and bent over to check a spot that was bothering on my leg. All of a sudden I felt a huge gush. I put my hand between my legs and I was bleeding. I ran to the bathroom. After 4 wipes or so, the red blood stopped. I waited 10 minutes to check again and it had turned to brown. This morning, it’s still light brown.

I keep trying to tell myself it’s just a sensitive cervix thing again (like the constipation bleed, maybe the sneeze caused it?), but I am worried. It’s Good Friday here in Canada – a Stat Holiday – so I won’t be able to see my OB. I don’t want to be that crazy one who goes to the ER since the bleeding has stopped. Our OB appointment is next Thursday. I’m going to try to hold out til then, but if it still worries me I may call on Monday.

Please little baby. Hang in there. Please universe – stop freaking me out! I’m not sure what lesson you are trying to teach me. Patience? Trust? Either way, I’d appreciate less worry-inducing episodes! 

I kept saying I wouldn’t buy a doppler, but I think I’ve changed my mind. I checked our local online classifieds and wasn’t able to find a used one. Any recommendations for where to get one in Canada?

49 thoughts on “12 week ultrasound and ANOTHER scare

  1. I absolutely love the photos, and I’m so sorry about the curve ball. Way to ruin a perfectly good ultrasound high! Buy the doppler. I held out for way too long and I wish I’d done it sooner. And really, if it will make you feel better to go to the ER, just do it. There’s no use feeling scared and anxious all weekend if you don’t have to. Is it worse to be the silly pregnant patient who worries too much and needs some reassurance or to be trapped inside your own head worrying for days until you can get some answers? This stage of pregnancy was the absolute worst for me because you have absolutely no way of knowing without relying on the doppler or the doctors. Until you get that doppler, don’t hesitate to bug the doctors! You are not the average pregnant lady. You deserve some hand holding.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. you’ve been through enough crap already and it’s time for an easy pregnancy. It seems like lots of women have some type of bleeding. I’m betting everything is going to be ok but I’m sure you’ll feel better once you have some reassurance

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really get your fear. I’m in the same boat of trying not to be “that patient” and wait until my OB appt next Wednesday to ask about this sharp pain in my right side that started in the lower abdomen but now is much higher up. I want my liver enzymes checked – why can’t we order our own blood tests, damn it?!?

    In your case, if the bleeding comes back I’d go get checked. I wish this would stop happening, I can imagine how stressful it is.

    I ordered all of my dopplers (the ones I’ve rented and the one I bought) from Tummy Tickles in BC. If you can’t find the website email me and I’ll send you their phone and website info.

    Like

  4. I cannot believe you are facing yet another scare! I say go to the ER if you need to for piece of mind! And I absolutely think you should get a doppler – it’ll be great to help ease concerns and even greater to get to listen just for fun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m sorry for the scare, ugh! Anyone dealing with infertility should be guaranteed a smooth pregnancy. End of story. It’s just not fair! That said, I have seen on the blogs that quite a few IVF mamas have the bright red bleeding on and off and it always seems to turn out ok. Hugs!

    Like

  6. Baby looks awesome on the ultrasound! I am so happy that everything is all good and you got to see him being stubborn lol. I’m sorry that you had bleeding again. I’m hoping that it’s just your uterus stretching and the blood supply to baby is invading your uterus even more aggressively. Or a pocket of bloody from before just finally got dislodged. I dunno. There are many reasons for bleeding, and I’m sure it doesn’t really make you feel better, but the good thing is that you just saw him, and he was doing great. If you bleed again, I don’t see any harm in going to the ER or your OB. I haven’t heard anyone regret getting a Doppler, especially for people like us, a quick little check-in goes a long way. Have a great long weekend. When are you planning on sharing your good news?

    Like

  7. I had a doppler I rented from a woman here in Toronto…I forget the name of her company, I’ll look it up for you! I say get it for peace of mind. It’s so worth it!

    PS – praying for you and your little one.

    Like

  8. Sounds similar to my bleeding-sudden gushes with no warning (no pain or cramping). I’ve been diagnosed with subchorionic hematomas the last two pregnancies which is completely unnerving but often harmless. Taking it easy seems to help the bleeding. As awful as it is, hopefully it is something like this as opposed to more dire things. My MFM doc told me a few weeks ago that 25% of women have this issue, so there are more of us than we’d think. Best wishes that all continues to go well and that this is just a (scary) blip in this pregnancy.

    Like

  9. Ugh why can’t everything just go smoothly already! I’m sorry to hear that universe is messing with you and if you end up going to the ER this weekend I would definitely not consider you crazy. I think your reaction to this is just right – you had a wonderful, positive scan with nothing wrong – focus the mind on that rather than the spot of blood – particularly if it was just a short incident. Wishing you all the best this weekend – keep us posted!

    Like

  10. I’ve looked at eBay and Amazon for the U.S. And then checked to see if the seller ships to Canada.

    I’m sorry this is happening, I love and respect your determination to to let it interfere with your weekend. But I agree, if you’re still bleeding brown call next week, if it’s red, er. You’ve been through a lot – you need some tlc!

    Like

  11. I’m glad your scan went fairly well, even though he wouldn’t cooperate!! What is that scan for, anyway? I keep seeing you guys talk about it, but not sure what it is. I hope that things go smooth the rest of the weekend and you don’t see any more blood!! If you do, bite the bullet and head to the ER! Better safe than sorry….

    Like

  12. Check eBay! I hope the bleeding stoops completely! It must be really unnerving! I say if it’s just brown your good to go. A friend of mine bled A LOT during the first trimester with her baby, now healthy and 7 weeks old, each time she went in they said it was fine. XO

    Like

  13. Yikes girl! Your fear and worry is so normal. And if you need that reassurance, then do not feel bad or hesitate to go to the er. It’s okay if you do :). I am praying for you sugars!!! Xo

    Like

  14. You’ve already gotten a lot of comments, but I concur that calling in on Monday would be best. I hope that everything is okay now and the bleeding hasn’t come back. I’m really glad to hear that your ultrasound went well. Thinking of you as always. ❤

    Like

  15. So scary! I totally feel you on the bleeding, in reality all is almost certainly ok at this stage but you can’t help the worry. I have a friend who had consistent (red) bleeding from 12-17 weeks and it was because of something called “placental lakes” which they told her was normal. Very unnerving though!

    I will be renting a doppler. That way I can get hospital-grade and it’s way cheaper. Think I’ll get mine from here: http://www.babytones.ca/

    Like

  16. Sorry about your scare! And why do these things always happen on the weekends/Holidays? Do they have a calendar in the womb to screw with Mom? Hope everything stays well for you!

    Like

  17. Pingback: 12 week bumpdate | Awaiting Autumn

  18. Pingback: Sweet, sweet relief! | Awaiting Autumn

Leave a Reply

