Introducing our gummy bear!

Today was our official ultrasound (even though we’ve had 2 sneak peaks at the OB office). Here is our little baby:

image

image

He (I’m going with he until I am proven wrong) is measuring bang on at 7 weeks, 6 days with a heartbeat of 168 bpm.

I had an external tummy ultrasound first, then we switched to the lovely dildocam for a closer look. We didn’t get to hear the heartbeat yet. This ultrasound clinic says they don’t do it that early. Perhaps we will get to hear at our next OB appointment at 9 weeks? The heartbeat flicker was strong and fast. It’s really quite fascinating to see.

We are beyond happy and blessed to be growing one healthy and very much loved baby.

90 thoughts on “Introducing our gummy bear!

  1. AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW. SO EFFIN’ CUTE!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ ❀

    I think I only heard the heartbeat on the ultrasound once…it was early on and for like a few seconds. I guess it isn't standard, as it never happened again after that. 😦 Buuuuuuut when you go back for 9 weeks, is it just an ultrasound or a whole appt? Your OB/RE might try to listen with the Doppler, which to ME was way better than the ultrasound reading. πŸ™‚ It might be too soon, though. My OB did it and warned us ahead of time that she might not find it, and it took a good few minutes, and then when we did hear it it was SO hard to hear and very distant. But still cool.

    I'm so very glad things are going well for you, hun. You have deserved this happiness a long time coming. πŸ™‚ Give that lil' gummy bear lots of love and positivity! ❀

    Like

        • Ha, this made me giggle, because we just used our at home doppler for the first time a couple of days ago (not an app though, I’ve heard those are sh*t). It was given to us by my BIL, otherwise I don’t think we would have gotten one. But I did love it. Being able to hear the heartbeat in the privacy of my own home whenever I want…very awesome. But I am trying to limit my use.

          Our OB did use the doppler at our last appt and I was 11w0d. She said normally she wouldn’t do it that early because it is sometimes hard to find but I’m pretty tiny, so she gave it a shot and found it in two seconds. I think they just tell people it’s still early in case they can’t find it, because that would be crazy making.

          I’m surprised your ultrasound tech didn’t let you hear it. Our first ultrasound had to be after 7 weeks specifically so they could detect the heartbeat and when we heard it, it was the most amazing sound ever. I can’t remember if we heard it at our last ultrasound, but that was for nuchal translucency. Congrats anyways, you got to see it, and that little flicker. The. BEST! (Sorry, totally hijacked this comment).

          Like

          • I guess we might have to wait til 12 weeks then. We have a 9 week OB appointment coming up, but that will be too early. Yes I was shocked we didn’t hear it yesterday. Must be some unusual protocol at this particular ultrasound clinic.

            Like

  2. Squeee!!! So beyond excited for you, Lindsey! You deserve this precious, beautiful miracle! Bless your sweet family, mama! And a special blessing to your little baby! Xoxo

    Like

  3. I’m so happy for you!!!! Your due date is just a couple of days after one of my best friends who is expecting #2 so October is going to be one exciting month!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. What fantastic news!!! Isn’t it just amazing to even just see the flicker of the baby’s heartbeat?! That’s what I would always look for as soon as my ultrasounds started. It is also mindboggling how this tiny blob will soon grow into a baby!

    Like

      • I’m mostly meh. My TCM Dr/acupuncturist recommended a break from my blog to help quell the monkey mind. I’m kind of following the advice but more than that I really don’t have much to report and have been kind of down this week – the sleep deprivation got the better of me and I broke down sobbing yesterday. I wish I could fast forward or enter a coma for 3 months and be done to be totally honest. I sm grateful to have let go of fighting everything but now I am devastatingly worn out. I’ve never felt so depleted and exhausted.

        I’m so hopeful for this pregnancy of yours. I love that you have a feeling this one is a boy. I had connections to both embryos and could not sense which one made it or second guessed myself for a long time. Even now I am sometimes unsure. I’m okay with that. I know I’m connected to this kid’s spirit no matter the gender in which the body shows up.

        Like

        • I knew immediately when I saw them on the screen that one wouldn’t make it. My husband encouraged me to focus on the fact that both could survive, even though I knew different. Take as much time as you need off the blog. You can only give out as much energy as you have and also get in return. I’ve always had this feeling your Azulito is a boy too but I think my logical side may be basing that on facts (blue light) versus actual intuition. πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          • That’s good in one way you went into the transfer with eyes open. Mine were both good quality so it stung when my #a started high and suggested both took and then slowed then rise sharply again, suggesting both took but only one carried on. I’m so relieved not to be carrying twins now with all of our other issues and risks but I still mourn that one more who didn’t make it. I know one was a boy and the other a girl – intuitively, not through PGD. Azulito’s spirit has always comes to me as a boy (and to others). But I know that doesn’t mean anything in terms of what might come. And I recently learned that for someone with my history the NIPN testing we had done may not be reliable so whether it said girl or boy is no guarantee. I’ve been thinking of asking at my next ultrasound but a part of me doesn’t care to have further confirmation or refutation until delivery. There is something really magical about that moment and the surprise.

            I don’t have anything left to give. And I feel sad about it because that includes for myself. My breakdown yesterday made that really clear to me. I am so spent. I need a break. And I don’t think one is coming anytime soon.

            Like

  5. Yay! So happy for you! Your little gummy bear is so cute! We were told the same thing about not using the Doppler and hearing the HB in the early weeks. I didn’t hear Archer’s heartbeat until the NT scan at 11 weeks. Continuing to send you guys lots of prayers. ❀️

    Like

Leave a Reply

