FET: mid-cycle update

CD 9.

I’m 8 days into taking Estrace. I find it fascinating to see how you react to certain drugs. During our IVF cycle, I was typically on more than one drug at a time. It was hard to determine which drug was causing which side effects.

After being off all fertility meds for 3 months, I can’t believe how much estrogen makes me bloat and swell. I know this won’t go away once we get pregnant (positive reinforcement), so I might as well get used to it! I’m also experiencing dry eye, but it’s nothing that hydration and eye drops can’t resolve.

As for the progesterone, I decided to go with the PIO ass shots. They are less mess, less to remember, easier for me – not for my husband! Ha!  I don’t start the shots until sometime next week.

Today, the ultrasound clinic left me a message to remind me of my appointment on Monday and to tell me they didn’t have my requisition. In between meetings, I called them back and waited on hold for 10 minutes. When someone finally answered, I told her I’ve never had to bring a requisition. She gave me the run around and basically didn’t seem willing to make an effort to resolve it for me. So, I contacted my fertility clinic. They followed up with the ultrasound clinic and re-sent the requisition (meaning the ultrasound place lost it). I’m glad we got this sorted BEFORE Monday’s scan. It’s a common theme that we always have to be our own advocates during treatment. I am glad that my clinic is so responsive when I’m being monitored remotely.

I’m currently on a 3-day business trip. It’s been hard to stick to my low-sugar, gluten-free diet while staying in a hotel. I’ve been trying to make the healthiest choices possible to compensate for the few diet breaks I’ve had in between. I have been using digestive enzymes if I have a cheat and they seem to be working well at keeping things moving (if you get what I mean – haha). 

Last night, I had an amazing home-cooked supper with my co-worker, his wife and their one and a half year old son. He was so smiley and cute. I enjoyed catching his gaze across the supper table and hearing him giggle. Tonight, I had a long overdue supper with good friends of mine and their son and daughter. My friend’s daughter – who I haven’t seen in 8 months – ran up to me and gave me a big hug. She’s only three and a half, but she’s brilliant. After supper, we took the kids for a walk by the river. I felt so loved and appreciated both nights. Both nights reminded me of how important it is to surround yourself with supportive and loving friends, and also of how much I want to experience the joy of having my own children.

I hope that Monday’s scan shows everything is on track.

Less than 2 weeks to go… but still taking it one day at a time. 🙂

21 thoughts on “FET: mid-cycle update

  1. I know I don’t always comment but I have been following your journey before you went for your egg retrieval. I am so excited for you to be at this stage of your FET! You inspire me to take a healthy approach to my mental, emotional and spiritual well being in the weeks leading to my FET and I want to thank you for that. Wishing you all the best for Monday!

    Like

  2. Wishing you all the very best for Monday! I’m sorry that you got the run around about the requisition, but glad it’s resolved. Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

      • I can totally relate. Bloat is brutal. Water retention and weight gain despite no diet or exercise changes with the steroids is no fun either but we must keep our eyes on the prize. Much love to you and hope that Monday’s scan brings good news. You are getting so close!

        Like

  3. One day at a time! Im so glad you had good suppers with your friends and their kids, sometimes being around kids during these times is actually comforting and reienforcing as to why we do all this. I cant wait to hear how your scan goes!

    Like

  4. Pingback: First OB appointment | Awaiting Autumn

Leave a Reply

