The joys of being remote from your fertility clinic

It’s 4:30 am MST. Wayyyyy too early if you ask me. We are just waiting at the airport for our flight. 

We got some great news before bed last night. 

  1. The apartment we rented lowered our rent by $100/week
  2. We have access to laundry

After I found this out, I ended up removing quite a few pieces of clothing. I’m still a horrible packer though. I never backpacked Europe for a reason. 

Yesterday didn’t go quite as expected. I went for my blood work just after 8 am. Got in at 8:30 am. 3 techs and 3 pokes and 35 minutes later, they finally got my blood. I have deep, difficult veins. I always tell them where the best spot is, but if the tech isn’t listening or isn’t confident, they often miss it. Now, I’ve got a new bruise on top of last week’s bruise. 

This delay meant that I missed the 9 am pick-up, but my blood would be going on the 11 am pick-up. No biggie. Last time the clinic received my blood about 2 hours after pick-up. My fertility clinic is also an hour time difference behind us which means they would be there if the results came through end of the day. 

Well, they didn’t receive the results. 

I was instructed to maintain the same dosage of Puregon and Repronex and to NOT take my Orgalutron until the clinic gets back to me.

Surprisingly, I didn’t let this stress me out too much. Although, I was dreaming about it last night. My local health care always pisses me off. I’m glad we will be in B.C. in a few hours where I will have access to the on-site lab at the clinic. 

I’m also looking forward to getting settled and enjoying our mini-IVF vacation. 

Hopefully I can catch a few more ZZZZ’s on the plane. I don’t do well on lack of sleep. 

Goodnight… er, I mean Good Morning 🙂

Oh, I almost forgot: It’s easy to get through security with your injectibles meds. No hassles at all. 

18 thoughts on “The joys of being remote from your fertility clinic

  1. I hope you have a safe flight! I’m so excited for your mini-vacation!! LOL about getting through security with your drugs, too funny. I hope it’s not been too big of an ordeal!

    Like

  2. Have a good trip! I think it’s so funny that you had no issues with your injectables with airport security. Enjoy your extra sleep and mini-vacation! 🙂

    Like

  3. Sorry for the delay taking your blood and with your lab results (my veins are horrible too so I completely empathize!), but glad it didn’t mess things too much and I’m so happy you are on your way! I’m sure they will take good care of you there and how fortuitous that your rent was lowered! When does that ever happen? Praying it’s a good sign of good things to come! Can’t wait for your next update! Praying this is it! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

