Our Infertility Rap Sheets

This was an amazing post by Justine at Ever Upward.

I’ve been struggling with the numbers game in my own head. “How many FAILED cycles? Does that mean I’m a failure?” The answer is no.

We can’t let these lists, timelines and acronyms define who we are. There is no shame is where we’ve been or where we are headed.

Ever Upward™

Ever Upward is growing. My world is expanding. My recovery is strengthening.

Which also means my shamed silence is triggered more often. Even though my shame resilience has grown as a result of my practicing recovery.

As I meet more and more people in the infertility world, blogging or otherwise, I am finding myself comparing my story to theirs. I have always been uncomfortable with the TTC (trying to conceive) timelines. I am especially uncomfortable when our About pages and Twitter bio’s are our TTC timelines full of numbers and acronyms.

What I have come to realize is that my discomfort is simply a result of my shame being triggered.

The numbers we share to describe ourselves; how many miscarriages, cycles, IUIs, IVFs, BFNs, etc.* Hell, I have my numbers in my bio (two rounds of IVF and three never to be babies). I thought I included these because…

View original post 613 more words

2 thoughts on “Our Infertility Rap Sheets

Leave a Reply

