Gradual progress towards positivity

CD6. Clomid Day 2. Pending IUI #2. 

In the past 6 months, I’ve been on the receiving end of 2 “whoo(ps)! we’re pregnant!” announcements.

In August, my bro and his wife told me their big news when they were about 6 weeks along. They conceived their first month not using any protection. She didn’t think they would get pregnant for “at least a year” (so says every fertile…) 

This morning, I was having a fertility convo with a friend. I mentioned that I really hope they don’t keep it from me when they get pregnant. One thing lead to another… SURPRISE! They are pregnant  – only 5 weeks. I just offered advice last month for how to deal with regulating your hormones after coming off birth control. It was her 2nd month off birth control. They weren’t timing it or anything. 

How the fuck does this happen to people???? 

I spent about 2 minutes in my usual prego announcement despair. Then, my attitude changed completely. I don’t want to mope around each time I hear about another baby on the way. 

Fuck it! It’s MY TURN! 

It’s my turn to be positive.

It’s my turn to conceive.

It’s my turn to see those two pink lines and jump up and down in excitement.

It’s my turn to plan an exciting way to tell my husband that we are having our baby (but we all know that will fail because I won’t be able to keep it a secret from him for more than 5 mins).

It’s. 

My. 

Turn. 

And if it isn’t? Then, I will stay positive and trust.  

Image

I opened an email this afternoon to find the photo above.  It made SO MUCH sense to me. 

Later on, I was online browsing and found a home decor sign that said: 

“God didn’t promise days without pain, laughter without sorrow, nor sun without rain, but he did promise strength for the day, comfort for the tears and light for the way.” 

Finding those quotes feels like divine intervention to me. I needed a reminder of why having a good attitude is so important. 

This fertility journey is not an easy ride. It has it’s ups and downs, it’s twists and turns. I need just keep trusting that things will work out – one way or another when they are supposed to.

15 thoughts on “Gradual progress towards positivity

  1. You’re so right! It’s your turn!! I hope you get your turn VERY soon! I know how frustrating it is waiting for it every month. Love the quote you shared about God promising strength….so true!!

    Like

  2. You do deserve to be happy and it will be your turn soon! You have to believe that! I love the quotes you found too! I don’t know why people try to keep pregnancies a secret. I’m glad she told you instead of hiding it though. Hugs friend. Hang onto that positive thinking!

    Like

  3. Love those quotes! I sometimes think I’m a pregnancy ninja – as soon as I have a conversation with someone about how long we’ve been trying they get pg pretty much straight away. It’s a strange gift!

    Like

  4. I’m not quite there yet with the positivity…maybe once I’m pregnant I will be…wait I’m supposed to be positive before that 😉 I have no feelings one way or the other right now. I just want this tww to be over and deal with the consequences.

    Like

  5. It’s definitely your turn! Everyone just keeps cutting the line!! So frustrating. I’m sorry, that’s so difficult to hear everyone else having such an easy go at it, I’m glad you found a way to not let it keep you down though. Good luck!

    Like

  6. I just had another friend give me the we weren’t even trying and it happened news. It’s hard because I am sincerely happy for them but at the same time it makes me feel like shit. I try my best to stay positive and some days are easier than others. It’s easy to tell someone to try to be positive but of course that is much easier said than done. I am pulling for you! It is time for you to be the one with the good news.

    Like

Leave a Reply

