H to the S to the G

Yesterday I had a Hysterosalpinogram (HSG) test.

A what?!?!

Basically, a catheter tube is inserted through the cervix into your uterus. An x-ray is done while dye is injected through the catheter to determine if your fallopian tubes are open .

I took 2 regular strength ibuprofen about 2 hours before the test. To start, the pain was minimal. I just felt pressure until they blew that f**king dye into you. I took a few deep breaths and went to my happy place which happened to be under the Eiffel Tower at that moment. The extreme cramping lasted until they removed the catheter about 60 seconds later.

One piece of advice for future HSG-ers: Make sure you sit on the toilet as soon as you possibly can afterwards. I was told to go change in the washroom. I took my time getting there and realized I was dripping a fluid/blood mixture as I went (TMI? I know I can’t help it). Once I sat down on the toilet, there was a quick rush of fluid coming back out. I wore a regular pantiliner (that I brought myself – who the hell wears those hospital versions anyway?). I changed it 2 hours after the test. 4 hours later, I had just minor cramping, minimal spotting. No big deal.

And now for the news we’ve all been waiting for: it’s all good. No issues found.

Check another one off the list.

One thought on “H to the S to the G

  1. Pingback: What’s the plan? | Awaiting Autumn

Leave a Reply

